21 September 2017

The nominations for the 2017 Barry Award for Best Show at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival have been revealed – with Token Artists scoring a record 4 nominations. 

Leading the charge is Hannah Gadsby’s Nanette, Damien Power’s Utopia: Now In 3D!, Anne Edmond’s No Offence, None Taken, and the latest offering from last year’s Best Newcomer Winner, Tom Walker’s Bee Boo.

Rounding out the nominations are Richard Gadd’s Monkey See, Monkey Do and Sammy J’s Hero Complex.

To win the Barry Award, named after founding patron of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival Barry Humphries, a show must be performed at least 10 times throughout the festival.

In related news, last year’s Barry Award winner Zoe Coombs Marr begins an encore season of her show Trigger Warning this week.

Congratulations to all nominees!